Heating a Polytunnel

The whole reason for the selfsufficientish website was to offer a place where anyone can ask, HOW DO I...? So who knows why it has taken us so long to have a HOW DO I? section, but here it is. So if you want to know how to do anything selfsufficientish then here is the place to ask.
Greenmax
margo - newbie
margo - newbie

Heating a Polytunnel

Hi This might seem like a silly question (I am a polytunnel newbie) but can you heat a small polytunnel? Mine is 2 x 2.5m

Advice please????

boboff
A selfsufficientish Regular

Re: Heating a Polytunnel

I am sure you can, but not sure why?

what are you trying to do? Could you not more sensibly use your house with its own heat?
Millymollymandy wrote:Bloody smilies, always being used. I hate them and they should be banned.
No I won't use a smiley because I've decided to turn into Boboff, as he's turned all nice all of a sudden. Grumble grumble.
http://boboffs.blogspot.co.uk/

oldjerry

Agreed ,think about making a propagating bench,using electric cable ,inside your tunnel then plant out in the tunnel.Let us all know if you need more detail. Best Wishes.

Greenmax
margo - newbie
margo - newbie

Hi Thanks for the advice. I suppose I was thinking it would not be warm enough to grown seeds in polytunnel at the moment. I already have seeds starting off all over the house and will soon run out of room.
The propagating bench idea sounds really good and I would love more details please

oldjerry

Have alook at www.freeplants.com/bottomheat.htm (advance apols if it don;t work ,I'm crap at links) nb the photo in this link shows the cable before it's covered with a layer of sand. I'd stick the whole lot on a table or something.
Best wishes.

okra
Living the good life
Living the good life
latitude: 35.0
longitude: 33.4