I have plants I can't eat!

Another section by popular demand. If you want to talk about anything else that grows that is not livestock, herbs, fruit or vegetables here it goes.
Annpan
Site Admin
Site Admin

I have plants I can't eat!

I visited my Mother (a dedicated gardener) yesterday she does not grow anything edible, well not on purpose and her garden was looking lovely in full bloom lots of colours and interest.

My garden (where I almost only grow edible things)is almost devoid of colour :( I have some sweet peas which look gorgeous and the veg that I miss during harvest gets left to flower so I have parsnip and carrots flowering just now along with courgettes and peas that should be flowering this time of year....

Anyway.... long story short.... I nabbed some cuttings / bits of plants.... but all my books (and research of the past 5 years) are about veg and herb growing and I have very little knowledge of these pretty things, beyond how they look... so can I get some pointers please. :mrgreen:

Also if any of these plants have practicle purpose I would like to know too :scratch:

Here's what I have

Bamboo - I know I should be able to coppice canes off of this, which is why I took it really :flower:
Lemon Balm - I know it is technically edible, but in what? (I felt a great satisfaction as I identified this even though my mum had no idea... it was left by previous owner)
Pink geraniums
Hydrangea
Aubretia

There might be more... its all still in polybags, I wanted some pointers before I started digging holes....

Any help would be most welcome
Ann Pan

"Some days you're the dog,
some days you're the lamp-post"

My blog
My Tea Cosy Shop
Some photos
My eBay

kit-e-kate
Barbara Good
Barbara Good

Re: I have plants I can't eat!

Sorry, i'm not going to be of much help here! I just wanted to let you know that you're not the only one who hasn't got the hang of flowers! Me too! :icon_smile:

mollypea
margo - newbie
margo - newbie