The Merry-go-round begins ...

Politics, news, current affairs and anything else that you think should be here goes here.
MKG
Site Admin
Site Admin

The Merry-go-round begins ...

The secret of life is to aim below the head (With thanks to MMM)

oldfella
A selfsufficientish Regular
latitude: 44.564
longitude: 0.959

Re: The Merry-go-round begins ...

All us old folk can do is worry about the future for our kids, cos its danm sure no one listens to us
I can't do great things, so I do little things with love.

Lilyfae
Tom Good
Tom Good

As a history teacher I preempted the comparisons to the scramble for Africa in the late 19th century one because the industrialised nations had exhausted their own resources and two because of the political gains of control of said resources. Nothing changes does it.

It's a terrible indication of the nature of humanity to willingly plunder in the knowledge they can cause catastrophe.
Furthermore it's a shame that as people don't live there governments will brush off claims of colonisation when that is in fact what it is- interesting as USA is big part in this when they were the biggest anti-imperial voices actively encouraging both Britain & France to give up their Empires in the early-mid 20th century

Santanaya's famous quote about those that don't learn from history are doomed to repeat it is generally overused but It sadly fits so perfectly here.
Poor Gaia continuously plundered for her blood & bones- there are sometimes when I wouldn't blame her wiping us out.

oldjerry

oldfella wrote:All us old folk can do is worry about the future for our kids, cos its danm sure no one listens to us

No smart arsed response from me......my kids are 11,6 and 4. Somethings you just cant bear to ponder.

MKG
Site Admin
Site Admin

It can get worse - here's a current Obama quote (about Alaska and the Gulf of Mexico, but hey ...)