walnut tree?

Foods for free. Anything you want to post about wild foods or foraging, hunting and fishing. Please note, this section includes pictures of hunting.

Sorry to say that Selfsufficientish or anyone who posts on here is liable to make a mistake when it comes to identification so we can't be liable for getting it wrong.
welshmum
Tom Good
Tom Good

walnut tree?

I have found a tree that I think is awalnut variety. Just after a little advice about it. At the moment the nutty bits are very unripe. They also have a sticky residue on them. They are quite large in size (just under a golf ball at the moment). The leaves are very large as is the tree itself. Some of the leaves are nearly dinner plate in size. I am new to foraging and this will be my first nut tree find :wink: I have got pictures but havent uploaded them yet

Dave
Site Admin
Site Admin

Re: walnut tree?

Hello Welshmum just saw your post - is the tree near you, could you go back? They should be ripening up a bit more by now, the casing should fall off quite easily, they can have a sort of sticky residue to them, it will stain your hands if you don't wear gloves.

The main identifier is the nut - if you remove the outer casing and it looks like a walnut, then break it open and it still looks like a walnut, then it probably is a walnut. Down here they got to there best around mid-September so I'd go back to the tree and get as many as you can before the squirrels get them all.

Go to google images and type walnut tree, you should get a few images that might help you cross-reference.

oldjerry
A selfsufficientish Regular

The walnuts can be pickled green,they are one of the great delicacies.

MKG
Site Admin
Site Admin

Yeah, but they don't stay green, do they :iconbiggrin:

I love the things but I have to close my eyes to get them in my mouth.

Mike
The secret of life is to aim below the head (With thanks to MMM)

Millymollymandy