Seed saving

Anything to do with growing herbs and vegetables goes here.
Odsox
Site Admin
Site Admin

Seed saving

I'm going to be saving more seed this year, not because of the present "problem" but because I've been getting duff seed that I've been paying good money for.
I have been saving the easy to collect seed for years from; peas, beans, tomatoes, peppers, cucumbers, sweetcorn, courgettes and squash, and more recently from onions.
I have been getting most of my seed from one of the big UK seed companies, in fact I have been buying their seed for at least 50 years. But a couple of years ago they sent me a packet of onion seed that was 4 years old that none germinated, and this year I bought a packet of lettuce that was "Sow before end 2019" ... bought in February 2020.
So, now I'm going to harvest seed from the lettuce that inevitably bolts, allow a cabbage to do the same. Plus beetroot, turnips, leeks, parsnips and carrots.
Plus the couple of F1 tomatoes that I like will be overwintered and side shoots rooted for the next year(s).
That'll teach them, or probably not.
Tony

Disclaimer: I almost certainly haven't a clue what I'm talking about.

Flo
A selfsufficientish Regular

Re: Seed saving

I noticed that when we did the order for the allotment trading hut the dates were very close - i.e.this year only. I think there's some shelf clearing going on in order to make money to see them through.

Weedo
latitude: 35.0886S
longitude: 147.1289E

Out of Date is always a risk when ordering on line but I don't know any other way to get "bulk" seeds (other than the tiny little shelf packets) - I can remember my father purchasing seed (and nails, screws, fertiliser) by weight over the counter - 2 oz of that and 6 oz of this etc. from the bins - all the old merhandisers have gone out of business
Don't let your vision cloud your sight

Odsox
Site Admin
Site Admin

I think I may have made the right decision.