Asparagus for beginners?

Anything to do with growing herbs and vegetables goes here.
Chants Cottage
Tom Good
Tom Good

Asparagus for beginners?

Hello all

I'm just in the process of sorting out a vegetable garden from (very) scratch, and it's fair to say I am a bit of a novice. I would really like to get an asparagus bed going. As I know I'm going to leave them for a long time I want to give myself the best chance for a harvest I can so I would be really grateful for any advice on how best to go about this. I'm not totally averse to planting seeds rather than crowns, I'd prefer to go with the most reliable method really, although I realise I will have to wait longer for my loverly sparrer grass if I did plant seeds. My questions are then:

1 - Seeds or crowns?
2 - Wilkinson mystery crowns or expensive posh crowns (has anyone tried the Wilko ones)? A mixture?!
3 - How much asparagus spears does a crown yield? (I know this may be not very easy to answer - I just want to get an idea of how many crowns I would need, or how many seeds to sew. I'd rather have too much than not enough cos I'm sure I'll be able to give some away!!).
4 - When would I sow the seed if that's the way to go...?

Thank you very much in advance!

Sarah x

demi
A selfsufficientish Regular
latitude: 41° 50' N
longitude: 22° 00' E

Re: Asparagus for beginners?

im planning on growing asparagus from seed this year too, but i also have never grown it before.
im interested to read the advice.

have you tried looking on youtube? there are usually loads of videos with people explaining what to do.

sorry i dont have any first hand experiance to give you.
Tim Minchin - The Good Book
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kr1I3mBojc0

'If you just close your eyes and block your ears, to the acumulated knowlage of the last 2000 years,
then morally guess what your off the hook, and thank Christ you only have to read one book'

Chants Cottage
Tom Good
Tom Good