Best potatoes and onions?

Anything to do with growing herbs and vegetables goes here.
lovelygreenleaves
Barbara Good
Barbara Good

Best potatoes and onions?

I'm new to potato and onion growing and I'll be growing in both ground and containers. Any tips on which are the best, and if possible, where you got your seeds from? My soil is sandy naturally. :sunny:

MKG
Site Admin
Site Admin

Re: Best potatoes and onions?

Onions I'll leave for someone else. But we had an interesting discussion here on container-grown potatoes a while ago. If you want to virtually guarantee potatoes free from slug attack, then container-growing in compost - not soil from your garden - is the way to go. On the other hand, if you want anywhere near a decent crop, then grow them in the ground. My container-grown spuds have always been perfect - but not many of them. The only other thing I'd say is that it is (only my experience - maybe someone else will disagree) just about a complete waste of time growing new potatoes in containers (unless you're growing out of season) because the crop will be not very much more than what you planted. Maincrops have a much longer time to develop a heavier crop, and that's all I'll be growing in containers next year.

Oh, and containers are MUCH less forgiving if your watering regime isn't quite what it should be.

Mike
The secret of life is to aim below the head (With thanks to MMM)

Mrs Moustoir
Living the good life
Living the good life

I recommend White Lisbon spring onions. Sow them now to eat in next year's April/May salads - they overwinter really well in containers.

This year I also grew Red Creole onions from seed and Pink Roscoff plants from the market. With the creoles - planted them in a raised bed, sowed them quite thickly and ate the first lot of thinnings like chives, later thinned more to eat as salad onions then left the rest to grow to maturity.

grahamhobbs
A selfsufficientish Regular