Caterpillars on Broccoli

This is the place to discuss not just allotments but all general gardening problems and queries which don't fit into the specific categories below.
(formerly allotments and tips, hints and problems)
hippy chick
Jerry - Bit higher than newbie

Caterpillars on Broccoli

Hello All,

I'm very proud of the way in which my purple sprouting Broccoli is growing in my back garden! :lol: I've managed to fend off an army of slugs, plant them well and look after them, but to my horror a few holes began appearing in my leaves... I left it thinking that I didn't mind a few holes here and there and was sure it wouldn't hurt... but now I have discovered my Broccoli is infested with Caterpillars!!!!! :( Holes are appearing all over the place and I'm worried for the wellbeing of my beloved Broccoli! How on earth do I get rid of the Caterpillars?? :pale: Please please please help! It's my first year of growing veg, I don't want to lose my greatest triumph to these little blighters! :flower:
Trying desperately to be an eco-warrior!!

QuizMaster
Tom Good
Tom Good

Re: Caterpillars on Broccoli

Pick them off by hand.
If you have children and have read "The Very Hungry Caterpillar" you may feel bad about what needs to be done with them.

Rod in Japan
Living the good life
Living the good life

Yes, pick them off by hand and gently stand on them, or just give them a little snip with the garden scissors. Repeat daily. It helps if you whack the pretty little white flutterbys before they dab their little bottoms on the broccoli, but you can't be there on guard all the time. There's also something about sprinkling the broccoli with flour which makes the caterpillars have gout.

I believe you might even be able to ignore them completely. I've seen people harvesting florets from broccoli with almost totally skeletal leaves.

Annpan
Site Admin
Site Admin