Cob 'barn'?

Anything to do with environmental building projects.
Nikki
Barbara Good
Barbara Good

Cob 'barn'?

Hey all.

We'll be going down the 'field to farm' type route soon enough. Part of this process is applying for prior notice of agricultural use building. I've searched everywhere for information on what are the materials criteria for such a barn but cant find it. I've read that the materials from which you make you're barn are crucial to complying with planning requirements.

We would love to try a cob shed/barn structure rather than anything steel or tin, but wonder if this is allowed or if anyone has attempted it.
Interests: land care, organic, permaculture, animal welfare, home education, tea.

Green Aura
Site Admin
Site Admin
latitude: 58.569279
longitude: -4.762620

Re: Cob 'barn'?

I have no experience of this, but I would imagine that each area has its own rules.

For example, in the Peak District you're not supposed to use red brick (well used not to anyway) so I think your best bet is to check with your local planning dept.

It all sounds very exciting though - we'd like pictures please, before during and after!
Maggie

Never doubt that you can change history. You already have. Marge Piercy

Life shrinks or expands in proportion to one's courage. Anais Nin

doofaloofa
A selfsufficientish Regular
A selfsufficientish Regular

I'd go for timber frame with either timber cladding or wattle and daub/lime render finish

Or maybe a straw bale

I'd be worried the pigs would burrow out of cob!

Thatch would be nice for a roofing material
ina wrote: die dümmsten Bauern haben die dicksten Kartoffeln

mamos
Living the good life
Living the good life

Cob is a fantastic material and I love the look and feel of cob but it is just too labour intensive for me.