Foraging in and around Plymouth, help im a beginner!!

Foods for free. Anything you want to post about wild foods or foraging, hunting and fishing. Please note, this section includes pictures of hunting.

Sorry to say that Selfsufficientish or anyone who posts on here is liable to make a mistake when it comes to identification so we can't be liable for getting it wrong.
jesssarahmurray
margo - newbie
margo - newbie

Foraging in and around Plymouth, help im a beginner!!

I'm new to all this and could really do with some tips to start me off! Been watching River Cottage and has given me a spark of inspiration!
Any good tips on sites for foraging berries, elderflowers, apples or anything really, any shared advice would be fab to set me on my way!

Chants Cottage
Tom Good
Tom Good

Re: Foraging in and around Plymouth, help im a beginner!!

I'm pretty new to foraging too... picked some sloes last year and made sloe gin and in the last few weeks have made the most fantastic soup from nettles... I know it's hardly revolutionary but it was an absolute revelation. Totally delicious, the best soup I've had in ages. The big advantage with nettles is that they're are more or less unmistakeable for anything else. I also made some really lovely pesto from wild garlic I picked when out for a walk with my sister in law the other day... didn't really have foraging in mind but I think once you start to identify things they become almost too good to miss. Didn't have anything to carry them in apart from the nappy bags I use for dog poo!! I think next time I will try and be a bit more organised...

markpeace
margo - newbie
margo - newbie