New to apple trees

Want to talk about fruit and nuts? Got any problems? Here's your place to post.
Peggy Sue
A selfsufficientish Regular

New to apple trees

I invested in a couple of dwarf apples a few years ago and there are some apples this year for me.... but being an apple novice I just left them to it and although I'm not that squeemish about bugs one bite into the first ti be ready and YUK it was full of something vile :angryfire:
The 'old crew' say spray them but I'd rather noe. I can eat round odd holes but this was a bit un announced. Any help out there?
Just Do It!

grahamhobbs

Re: New to apple trees

Organic apples don't have to be full of 'bugs', but best to inspect them thoroughly or cut them open first before sinking your teeth in. Next thing is to work out what the 'bug' was and whether it was a one off or throughout. If throughout, it maybe the tree was stressed in some way.

Peggy Sue

stressedlike no water for 3 months maybe.... better luck next year :)
Just Do It!

froggi
margo - newbie
margo - newbie
latitude: 53 19'08.43N
longitude: 1 19'25.25W

New to apple trees too.... but my query is re pruning back
I know not to do it at this time of year as the trees are setting fruit etc but when to do it and how hard to prune back??
Have 2 apples (unknown type), a pear, a cherry/plum - I think and 2 plums/greengages (unsure about these last 2)
Any advice would be welcome
Thanks in advance

Annpan
Site Admin
Site Admin

Your stone fruits (plum, cherry, greengage) should be pruned in the summer, my cherry tree fruited well this year but only on last years growth, so I pruned it quite heavily last week so I could net it.

Your apples and pears should be pruned in the winter.