hi from Libran

We love hearing from you, so here is your chance. Introduce yourself and tell us what makes you selfsufficient 'ish'. Go on don't be shy, we welcome one and all. You can also tell us how you heard about us if you like.
libran
margo - newbie
margo - newbie

hi from Libran

Hi I'm pretty new to this chat type thing but I am very interested in trying to grow my own veg and manage things as organically as poss. My husband thought I was barmy at first but I think he's sort of getting interested.I have a small garden that is very much in need of a work over so started by getting a compost bin. That's working (I think). As soil is not good and inundated with slugs where I live I have started with tubs in a small way. I think I left it a bit late this year to get seeds planted and mot many garden centres with veg plants round where I live - just outside Sheffield, North Derbyshire.
Now got herbs growing, (slugs love the basil) tomatoes, peppers, peas, runner beans, mixed lettuce and a cucumber. Have had one giant cucumber on plant but rest weren't growing so have cut cucumber in hopes that rest will swell. Am I doing this right. Heavy rains came so thought I could miss the watering for a day and as if by magic overnight I got mould like growth on leaves of cucumber which I think from checking my gardening book is mill dew. Is all lost now? any advice would be appreciated.

Wombat
Site Admin
Site Admin

G' day Libran,

Nice to hear that you've started moves to become self suffcientish!

Mildew is not a problem with vigorously growing plants but towards the end of the season it seems to be a problem (for me too!). You can try fungicidal herb teas, but I will have to look up what they are (just got to work!) tonight.

Nev
Garden shed technology rules! - Muddypause

Our website on living more sustainably in the suburbs! - http://www.underthechokotree.com/

shiney
A selfsufficientish Regular

Welcome Libran,